Coast to Coast 2022 Adventure Day 14: Lander, WY to Rawlins, WY

Alan Gilbert
2 min readJul 6, 2022

--

This post is part of a series detailing my 2022 coast to coast cycling adventure.

Different format again today…

Yesterday I could not really eat. Dinner was six saltines and a hard boiled egg. After an unplanned inner cleanse, half a gallon of Pedialyte, and 12 hours of sleep I am starting to feel better. The fever is gone and I had a big, healthy breakfast. I am sad to miss today’s ride — a 124-mile epic into Rawlins, WY. And sad to not be there for Dave. But I’m still not nearly ready to be pushing myself to the elite level that this trip demands. Hopeful for tomorrow though.

I still got some pretty awesome scenery from the car. Wyoming is desolate but beautiful.

New kinds of mountains. I wish we brought a geologist with us.
Rain chasing Dave
Rain, and hail, catching Dave

Update: Feeling much better now. I rode with Dee and supported Dave with a lunch stop. It really, really, REALLY sucks to be on the sidelines. I considered jumping in mid-ride and finishing (60 miles) but common sense prevailed. I’m planning on getting back on the saddle tomorrow and am really looking forward to it.

I also found a possible reason for my illness. I have cleaned my water bottles daily with soap and water but noticed that the underside of one of the caps is covered in mold. It can’t be good drinking through that every day. In fact, it’s gotta be pretty bad. Just to be safe, I bought new bottles today and will be much more diligent in cleaning.

Yuk!!!

Here’s Daves action for the day:

--

--