Coast to Coast 2022 Adventure Day 3: Sisters, OR to Bend, OR

Alan Gilbert
3 min readJun 26, 2022

--

This post is part of a series detailing my 2022 coast to coast cycling adventure.

Day 3 was a short (26 mile) ride from Sisters to Bend. Not really a day off, but a much needed rest after yesterday’s epic ride over McKenzie Pass.

Day 3 Highlights:

Song of the day: A Quick One While He’s Away by The Who
Start: Sisters, OR
End: Bend, OR
Distance: 26.38 miles
Elevation: 1,152 ft
Breakfast: Pancakes, bacon, and egg feast at the Cottonwood Cafe in Sisters
Lunch: Misc leftovers
Dinner: McMenamins Pub and Brewery in Bend

All of the anxiousness and nervousness we had before the journey has melted away now that we are in the thick of things. Today was deliberately short so that we could recover from yesterday and so that we could spend time in both Sisters and Bend.

I awoke to a nice surprise from the Garmin tech who I was working with (shout out to Clayton) — a fix to my GPS problem. His fix allowed me to force a fresh maps download and I am back in business.

Today’s ride was uneventful but offered amazing views of the Three Sisters and Mt. Hood. Here is a link:

The next three days will be very challenging as we ride from Bend to Boise. Tomorrow will be the longest ride I have ever done (131 miles). The next two days will be the longest two-day ride I have ever done (264 miles). The next three days will be the longest three-day ride I have ever done (328 miles). We Also expect temperatures in the 90s for the next few days. We are adjusting by starting early (plan is to start at 5:30) and carrying extra ice and water.

Here are a few highlights from today:

Breakfast with The Dude at the Cottonwood Cafe
Morning visitor
Mt. Hood and the Three Sisters from US 20, a road we will get to know very well for the next three days
Dave and I with Victoria, our amazing AirBNB host
Me writing this blog post and hydrating!

--

--