Coast to Coast 2022 Adventure Day 31: Martin, TN to Savannah, TN

Alan Gilbert
3 min readJul 24, 2022

--

This post is part of a series detailing my 2022 coast to coast cycling adventure.

Today was another “lunchpail work day” as we banged out a century across the rolling hills of Tennessee.

Day 31 Highlights:

Song of the day: Southbound by Allman Brothers Band
Start: Martin, TN
End: Savannah, TN
Distance: 100.2
Total Ascent: 4,039 ft.
Breakfast: Bacon and eggs in our BNB
Lunch: Picnic lunch at Amis City Park in Lexington, TN
Afternoon Coffee: O’Riley’s in Savannah, TN (thanks Ryan and Brenda!)
Dinner: Ma Ma Fia’s in Savannah

Progress so far: 2,649.7 miles, 87,073 ft. climbed.

The journey so far, with today’s ride in blue

Here are all of the details on today’s ride:

Two things are blowing my mind. One is that we started riding our bicycles in Oregon and tomorrow we will be riding in to Alabama. The other is that we are riding a century… every day. Yes, that was the plan and yes, the plan assumed that we could do it. But we are actually doing it. And I have felt really good the past couple of days. My knee, feet, and “saddle area” are all in good shape. I think part of it is just getting used to the daily routine and part of it is adapting my riding style to minimize stress.

One thing I haven’t talked much about is how I am passing the time while riding six to eight hours a day. I have a regular rotation of podcasts to keep up with general news, tech, business, and Cleveland sports. My favorites are Acquired and the NPR Up First daily newscast. I am also working my way through The Expanse, an epic nine-book series. I just finished Book 4 and started Book 5 this morning. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll get through every book but that will give me something to do on the next trip. I’ve made a detailed list all of the podcasts and books I’m listening to in the main trip journal.

Today was pretty uneventful. 100 more miles in mid-90s temperatures and slight headwinds from the south.

With the early starts the past few days we have been treated to beautiful sunrises.

Riding predawn is just so cool
Tennessee sunrise
Morning fog over Tennessee cornfields

Sue met us for lunch in Lexington. Baseball fields have become our go-to lunch spots as they usually have some kind of shelter.

Lunch in Lexington
OK, now we’re officially in the South

We’re spending the night in the first Savannah (Tennessee). The more important one is a week away at the finish line (Georgia).

Savannah sits right on the Tennessee River
Dinner at Ma Ma Fia’s

Tomorrow we move on to Alabama!

--

--